New disciplinary, judicial heads sworn in

(China Daily)     Updated : 2023-03-13


From left: Liu Jinguo, Zhang Jun and Ying Yong are sworn in after being appointed China's top disciplinary and judicial officials in Beijing on Saturday. [Photo/Xinhua]

Congress appoints top prosecutor, judge, director of supervisory body

The National People's Congress announced the names of the new heads of the top supervisory commission, top judge and top prosecutor on Saturday.

Liu Jinguo, a veteran of the political and disciplinary system, started his new post over the weekend to continue China's fight against corruption and help strengthen the supervision of public officials.

Liu was appointed director of the National Commission of Supervision on Saturday at a session of the 14th National People's Congress, the top national legislative body.

Born in April 1955, the native of Hebei province, joined the Communist Party of China in September 1975 and began his career in December 1976.

From 1976 to 2005, he served in a number of positions in his hometown, including as head of the public security bureau in Qinhuangdao, Hebei, and as head of the Commission for Political and Legal Affairs of the CPC Hebei Committee.

After his stint at the Ministry of Public Security, Liu transferred to the Central Commission for Discipline Inspection of the CPC in 2014.

He is a member of the Secretariat of the 20th CPC Central Committee and deputy secretary of the CCDI.

During the same session, two other officials with lengthy work experience in the legal system were also been awarded new posts.

Ying Yong was appointed procurator-general of the Supreme People's Procuratorate, the top procuratorate, and Zhang Jun was appointed president of the Supreme People's Court, the top court.

Born in November 1957 in Zhejiang province, Ying started his career in December 1976 and joined the Party in April 1979. He worked in Zhejiang for more than three decades, serving in a number of major posts, including as deputy head of the provincial public security department and as president of the Zhejiang High People's Court.

In late 2007, Ying began working in a judicial position at the Shanghai High People's Court. Ten years later, he became the city's mayor.

In early 2020, when Hubei province was hit hard by COVID-19, he was appointed provincial Party secretary. Last year, he transferred to Beijing to serve as deputy procurator-general of the SPP. He is a member of the 20th CPC Central Committee.

Born in October 1956, Zhang is no stranger to the national court system. The Shandong province native began his career in January 1973 and joined the Party in May 1974.

After graduating in law at the Renmin University of China in 1985, he joined the SPC and worked for the top court for almost 20 years. Between 2003 to 2005, he served as vice-minister of justice before returning to the SPC.

From 2012 to 2017, he was deputy head of the CCDI, and then became minister of justice. Before working for the top court, he was procurator-general of the SPP. Zhang is a 20th CPC Central Committee member.

The three officials made a public pledge of allegiance to the Constitution at the Great Hall of the People in Beijing upon assuming office.